The Whanganui Sports Hall of Fame is an initiative that recognises the elite athletes and coaches who have made a significant impact on our sporting heritage.

Inductees have achieved success at the highest level in their chosen sporting field(s) and brought credit to sport in the Whanganui district.

Thirty-two outstanding Whanganui sportspeople have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since it was launched in 2008. Wrestling great Pat O’Connor, legendary jockey Brent Thomson and professional golfer Simon Owen were the last inductees announced in 2019.

View all Whanganui Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

2023 Whanganui Sports Hall of Fame Nominations

A partnership with the Whanganui District Council Mayor’s office and Sport Whanganui has resulted in the relaunch of the Hall of Fame this year, after a period of dormancy largely due to COVID-19 restrictions. Nominations were open from Monday, 16 October to Friday, 24 November. Applications that have been made in previous years will be considered by the judges alongside any new nominations.

A formal ceremony will be held for the inductees and invited guests in March 2024. New inductees will be recognised with a photo and citation displayed alongside all inductees to the Sports Hall of Fame.