Sports Hall of Fame nominations

Sports Hall of Fame nominations

Nominations are now open for the Whanganui Sports Hall of Fame
Click here to nominate now

The Sports Hall of Fame recognises sporting achievement by athletes and coaches who have made a significant impact on Whanganui’s sporting heritage. It is a joint initiative between the Whanganui District Council and Sport Whanganui.

To be eligible, nominees must be from the Whanganui District, by birth or adoption, have been retired at least five years from top competition, represented New Zealand at senior level and/or contributed positively to and brought credit to sport in the District.

Inductees are selected by a panel comprising Ron Palenski (Chief Executive of the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame in Dunedin), John Phillips (former Wanganui Chronicle Sports Editor), Sue Westwood (former Whanganui District Councillor), Mark Stoneman (businessman and multisport event organiser), Ken Mair (Whanganui Iwi representative) and Keith Smith (Whanganui District Council Sport and Recreation Contract Manager).

Among those who have been inducted into the Sports Hall of Fame are Gary Anderson, who won New Zealand’s first ever Olympic cycling medal (Bronze) in the pursuit at the 1992 Olympic Games and athlete Bev Shingles, considered one of New Zealand’s top women distance runners.

The most recent inductees (2017) are Peter Henderson (rugby) and the Lints family (Alan Bruce and Alan Brodie) for hockey. A full list of the 28 previous winners, as well as an online nomination form, can be found at

The successful nominee(s) will be announced at the Whanganui Sports Awards on Friday, 16 November 2018 at the Wanganui Function Centre. Sports Hall of Fame nominations close on Friday, 21 September 2018. For more information, contact Nicky Malipaard at Sport Whanganui, ph 349 2880, 021 2466184 or email