Ray White Whanganui Secondary School Sports Awards 2018 Winners

It was another remarkable evening at the Whanganui Secondary Schools Sports Awards, held at Whanganui High school on Wednesday, 31 of October.

For the first time Sport Whanganui were delighted to have Ray White on board as the event partner, who are also the naming sponsor for the main Sports Awards and we thank them for their support.

The awards were a fantastic evening recognising and celebrating the years sporting achievements of secondary school aged students. Overall, there were an outstanding 91 nominations submitted across 14 different categories and 28 different sports inclusive of sprint kayak, dance, cowboy action shooting and equestrian!

The evening not only celebrates top performances it is also an important time to recognise student official’s, coaches and their contribution to sport. A highlight of the evening was the talk by guest speaker Rachel Māia. Rachel is New Zealand’s first international Paraclimber and shared her story of achievement and resilience. Thank you Rachel for touching our audience with such strong and inspiring messages!

Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners! It has been another successful year of sport in our region and Sport Whanganui is delighted to organise an event which celebrates and recognises secondary school student achievements.

Award winners were:

Official of the Year
Kaveh Safaei – Whanganui High School, Basketball

Coach of the Year
Kerwyn Morgan – Whanganui High School, Netball, Basketball & Waka Ama

Junior Team of the Year
4x100m & 4x400m – Wanganui Collegiate School, Junior Sprint Relay Team

Senior Team of the Year
Whanganui High School, Boys First XI Hockey Team

National Junior Sportswoman of the Year
Rebecca Baker – Whanganui High School, Hockey

National Junior Sportsman of the Year
Blake Hogan – Wanganui Collegiate School, Rowing

National Senior Sportswoman of the Year
Niamh Monk – Whanganui High School, Rowing

National Senior Sportsman of the Year
Jordan Cohen – Whanganui High School, Hockey

International Junior Sportswoman of the Year
Amorangi Rayner – Cullinane College, Weightlifting

International Junior Sportsman of the Year
Kyle Hoskin – Wanganui Collegiate School, Cycling

International Senior Sportswoman of the Year
Jamie Harris – Wanganui Collegiate School, Rowing

International Senior Sportsman of the Year
Keightley Watson – Whanganui High School, Judo

Recognition of Team / Individual Performance in Local Competition
Sayge Wikohika – Squash
WHS Boys U15 Green Rugby Team
WHS U17 Boys Football Team
WHS Senior A Girls Basketball Team
WHS Junior A1 Netball Team
Ruapehu College Senior A1 Netball Team
WCS 2nd XV Rugby Team
WCS Senior A Boys Basketball Team
WGC Senior A1 Netball Team
WGC First XI Hockey Team

Contribution to Sport Recognition
Kaveh Safaei (WHS) – Basketball
Saskia knight (WHS) – Football & Cricket
Jaime Keelty (WGC) – Hockey
Grace Macnab (WGC) – Hockey
Claudia Ryan van der Veen (WGC) – Hockey
Ethan Gillespie (WCS) – Hockey
William Hocquard (WCS) – Hockey
Shaniqka Wall (WGC) – Rugby
Leigha Stormont (WGC) – Netball